Top 10 Freedom Fighters of India


Top 10 Freedom Fighters of India war against British colonial control saw the rise of several freedom fighters, each contributing in their own distinctive way. The freedom fighters of India not only plays an important role in India’s independence, but also retained courage and constant love towards the country.

These true heroes dedicated their lives to the cause of Independence. Here’s a list of top 10 freedom fighters of india:


Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi(1869-1948)

Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi known as the ‘Father of the Nation, was born on 2 October 1869. He led India’s independence campaign via nonviolent civil disobedience. He led various nonviolent movements like Champaran and Kheda Satyagraha and the Quit India Movement. His Satyagraha ideology had a significant impact on the struggle for liberation.

Jawaharlal Nehru (1889–1964)


Jawaharlal Nehru Popularly known as Chacha Nehru, he adored kids very much and his birthday is celebrated as Children’s Day. Nehru was India’s first Prime Minister and a key player in Indian politics both before and after independence. He was a significant figure in the Indian National Congress and a proponent of modernization and social reform.

Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel (1875–1950)


Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel, known as the ‘Iron Man of India,’ and Bismarck of India. Initially a lawyer, Sardar Patel left the legal profession to fight for India’s independence from British became a key figure in the country’s war for independence and directed its merger into a unified, sovereign nation. He was appointed as the country’s Deputy Prime Minister. He also received the honorary Bharat Ratna Award for his hard work and dedication.

Bhagat Singh (1907-31)


Bhagat Singh was born in Punjab in a Sikh family of independence warriors. He joined the non-Cooperation movement in 1921. He founded the “Naujawan Bharat Sabha,” to foster patriotism the Indian independence struggle. At the age of 23 he was hung to death by Britishers. His enduring nickname is “Shaheed (martyr) Bhagat Singh.”

Subhas Chandra Bose (1897–1945)


Subhas Chandra Bose known as Netaji, was a nationalist leader and the creator of Azad Hind Army known as the Indian National Army. He was born on 23 January 1897 and now every year on 23 January Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Jayanti is celebrated to commemorate his birth anniversary. He sought India’s independence through armed conflict, famously coining the slogan “Give me blood, and I shall give you freedom’’.

Dr. B. R. Ambedkar (1891–1956)

Ambedkar a significant freedom fighter fought for Indian liberation movement, played an important role in the development of the Indian constitution. He also led movements to end societal prejudice against untouchables like ‘’Mahad Satyagraha Movement’’ to secure basic human rights for the Dalit community.

Rani Lakshmibai (1828-1858)

Rani Lakshmibai Newalkar known as Jhansi Ki Rani, she was a key figure in the Indian Rebellion of 1857 and is noted for her opposition to British rule. She was born on 19 November in the town of Varanasi. She was named Manikarnika Tambe and was nicknamed as Manu.

Chandra Shekhar Azad (1906–1931)


Chandra Shekhar Azad was born in a small village in Jhabua, Madhya Pradesh . He was a revolutionary and participated in various violent acts against the British, including the Kakori train heist. While fighting with the british police forces, he shot himself when  left with just one bullet ,thus not allowing the police forces to capture him alive. He pledged never to be taken by the British and he kept his word.

Lala Lajpat Rai (1865–1928)


Lala Lajpat Rai was a significant leader in the Indian Nationalist movement, earning the epithet ‘Punjab Kesari’ or the Lion of Punjab. Rai was a major figure in the fight against British imperialism. He also published the Urdu daily newspaper named ‘’Vande Mataram’’and also a english daily newspaper called ‘People’. His slogan was ‘’Inquilab Zindabad’’.Sarojini Naidu (1879-1949)

Sarojini Naidu, popularly referred to as the ‘Nightingale of India,’ was a poet and freedom fighter. She was the first woman to be elected President of the Indian National Congress, and then the first woman to be appointed Governor of an Indian state. In 1916 she co established the Home Rule League with Bal Gangadhar Tilak.


Top 10 Freedom Fighters of India are individuals made a substantial contribution to India’s freedom by leadership, ideas, and, in many cases, personal sacrifices. Their legacies have had an ongoing impact on Indian society and politics.

Scroll to Top